Popakademie Mannheim Logo
Color black
Normal view
Menu
Home / Academics / B.A. Music Business / FAQ

FAQ B.A. Music Business

When is the application deadline?
The postmark deadline is 30 April.

Is there a numerus clausus?
No. There is no numerus clausus for the Music Business programme. However, your final grades will be taken into account during the application process.

Are there tuition fees at the Popakademie?
The Popakademie Baden-Württemberg is a public university of the state of Baden-Württemberg. There are no tuition fees for your first course of study at the Popakademie. However, there are tuition fees for some international students as well as those pursuing a second course of study.

Is the Music Business degree accredited?
Yes, the degree in Music Business is accredited through ACQUIN.

Degree Information

How many students are accepted?
There are roughly 30 students accepted per year.
How long does the degree programme take?
Three years, i.e. six semesters.
Can I enrol at any time?
You can only enrol starting in winter semester.
Are there mandatory internships?
Yes, currently there are 2 mandatory internships of 12 weeks each as part of the project studies.
Will I be assigned an internship?
The students are generally responsible for arranging their own internships. Offers from our cooperation partners and other institutions are posted for the students on our WebBoard.
Can I study abroad?
Currently, we have an exchange programme with Linnaeus University in Kalmar (Sweden), Westminster University in London (UK), Middle Tennessee State University MTSU in Murfreesboro (USA) and Columbia College in Chicago (USA).
Can I also do an internship abroad?
Yes, of course!
Can I get credits from a different degree programme counted?
For certain subjects (such as general, foundational subjects), this is possible using a request form. For subjects very specifically oriented toward the music industry, other credits will not be counted.
In what fields can I work once I’ve obtained my B.A. in Music Business?
Depending on your concentration (Artist Development, Marketing and Sales Management, Business Management, Digital Innovation Management or Community Management), your future employers could include labels, publishing houses, management/booking/promotion agencies, digital service providers, the public sector (e.g. as rock or pop commissioner), or companies in the media and event industries.
Do I have to be able to play an instrument to apply for the Music Business programme?
No.
Is there an Open House?
Yes, our Open House day usually takes place in February. The exact date will be posted on our calendar.

Application

How can I apply?
You can find the application to download on our website. However, we can also send you the application forms by mail if you send us a self-addressed, stamped DINA4 return envelope (1.45 € postage). We are also happy to send you the application forms as an email attachment. Please fill out the application completely and send ALL relevant materials by 30 April to the following address:

Popakademie Baden-Württemberg
Bewerbung Musikbusiness
Hafenstraße 33
68159 Mannheim
Deutschland

We kindly ask you to refrain from elaborate designs when sending us your materials (e.g. making your application into a vinyl record, putting each page into a separate plastic folder, etc.). As much as we value your creativity, it is too difficult to distribute these materials to our jury. Any embellishments will not be taken into account in the selection process anyway.
Is there an age limit for applicants?
No.
Do I definitely need the A-level exams (university entrance qualification)?
For Music Business you need a general or subject-specific university entrance qualification or appropriate professional qualification with additional exam (see info sheet in German) in order to be admitted. Please contact programme manager Prof. Dr. Alexander Endreß for more information.
Do I have good chances for admission straight out of high school?
We require practical experience for the Music Business B.A. programme, but that includes volunteer experience and/or internships as well as paid jobs - thus it is possible for high school graduates to have fulfilled this requirement. In place of a work certificate you can attach a self-written project report for volunteer activities.
What kind of practical experience do I need to apply?
Practical experience in organisation or administration in the music industry must be shown on your application. The more relevant to music business and the more time intensive the experience is, the better your chances of admission are. In addition to professional experience, you can include part-time jobs, internships or volunteer activities, e.g. managing your own band, special engagement in music clubs, etc. If you have a degree in a commercial or media-related area or an intermediate degree in economics, humanities or social sciences, then less practical experience in the music industry is sufficient.
What can I do if I don’t have my graduation diploma yet?
In place of your graduation diploma, please attach any final grades completed thus far to your application materials. You can deliver your graduation diploma at the time of the entrance exam or upon enrolment.
How many applications did you receive last year?
We generally receive approx. 100-120 applications per year.

International Applicants

Can I apply as an international student?
Yes, of course! In order to apply, you need to get your (foreign) diploma recognised and show evidence of sufficient German language skills if you did not graduate from a German-speaking school.

For refugees, more information can be found on the website of the German Academic Exchange Service (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst).
Where can I get my foreign diploma recognised?
The State Academy of Fine Arts in Stuttgart is responsible for the recognition of educational qualifications. Click here to apply for the certificate of recognition for foreign applicants.

Contact
Hr. Rummel
Studiensekretariat der Akademie der Bildenden Künste
Am Weißenhof 1
70191 Stuttgart
Tel.: 0711 28440106

For German citizens with foreign secondary school degrees, please contact:

Regierungspräsidium Stuttgart
Abt. 7 Schule und Bildung
Anerkennungsstelle
Postfach 103642
70031 Stuttgart
Tel.: 0711 90440700
How do I prove my German language skills?
German language skills are required for studying at the Popakademie. The following certificates are recognised: DSH-exam from a German university, assessment test from the Studienkolleg, German Language Diploma Level II (Deutsches Sprachdiplom Stufe II), Goethe Institute’s Kleines Deutsches Sprachdiplom (KDS) or Großes Deutsches Sprachdiplom (GDS), Goethe Institute’s Central Upper Secondary Exam.

Entrance Exam

When do the entrance exams take place?
The date for the entrance exam for your degree programme will be posted under Facts.
What does the entrance exam entail?
The entrance exam consists of a written essay with questions about music business, e.g. in the form of a mailbox exercise. The second part is an interview. The exam will not test high-level business knowledge. The practical tasks can be solved with basic business knowledge, management skills and organisational talent as well as an interest in what goes on in the music industry.
How often can I take the entrance exam?
You can take the entrance exam twice.
Will all applicants be invited to the entrance exam?
Unfortunately we will not be able to invite all applicants to an entrance exam, which is why we do a pre-selection based on your submitted application materials.

Studying at the Popakademie

How high are the student union fees?
The student union fees are currently 80.90€ per semester.
Can I apply for BAföG funding as a student at the Popakademie?
Yes, as a Popakademie student you are entitled to funding through BAföG.
Is there a semester ticket for public transport?
The Popakademie is a member of the Mannheim Student Union. Since our students pay student union fees, they are entitled to a discounted semester ticket.
Is there a student dormitory at the Popakademie?
The Popakademie does not have its own student dormitories. However, through membership in the Mannheim Student Union, our students can take advantage of its housing referral service. One of the largest student dormitories is located very close to the Popakademie.
Can I audit a lecture as a guest?
Unfortunately it is not possible to audit lectures. However, we offer open lectures during our Open House, which is usually in February - this is a good opportunity to see what a lecture is like.

Popakademie Mannheim Logo
Farbe schwarz
Normale Ansicht
Menu
Home / Studium / Musikbusiness B.A. / FAQ

faq Musikbusiness B.A.

Wann ist Bewerbungsschluss?
Jedes Jahr am 30. April. Entscheidend ist der Poststempel.

Gibt es einen NC?
Nein. Allerdings wird die Abi-Note bei der Vorauswahl für die Musikbusiness-Aufnahmeprüfung als Kriterium mit einbezogen.

Gibt es an der Popakademie Studiengebühren?
Die Popakademie Baden-Württemberg ist eine staatliche Hochschuleinrichtung des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Für das Erststudium an der Popakademie sind demnach keine Studiengebühren fällig.
Das Land Baden-Württemberg erhebt seit dem Wintersemester 2017/18 bei allen staatlichen Hochschulen Studiengebühren für gewisse Internationale Studierende sowie für ein Zweitstudium.

Ist der Studiengang Musikbusiness akkreditiert?
Ja, der Studiengang Musikbusiness ist durch das Akkreditierungs-, Certifizierungs- und Qualitätssicherungs-Institut ACQUIN akkreditiert.

Infos zum Studiengang

Wie viele Studienplätze gibt es?
Es gibt ca. 30 Studienplätze pro Jahrgang.
Wie lange ist die Regelstudienzeit?
Drei Jahre, also sechs Semester.
Kann ich in jedem Semester anfangen?
Studienbeginn ist immer nur zum Wintersemester.
Gibt es Pflichtpraktika?
Ja, derzeit sind zwei Pflichtpraktika von jeweils 12 Wochen im Rahmen des Projektstudiums verpflichtend.
Werden die Praktika vermittelt?
Die Studierenden müssen sich grundsätzlich selbst um die Praktikumsplätze kümmern. Angebote von Kooperationspartnern der Popakademie und anderen Institutionen werden für die Studierenden über das Login geschützte WebBoard bekannt gegeben.
Gibt es die Möglichkeit eines Auslandssemesters?
Aktuell gibt es ein Austauschprogramm mit der Linnaeus University in Kalmar (Schweden), der Westminster University in London (UK), der Middle Tennessee State University MTSU in Murfreesboro (USA) und dem Columbia College in Chicago (USA).
Kann ich auch im Ausland ein Praktikum machen?
Selbstverständlich.
Kann ich mir Prüfungsleistungen aus einem anderen Studium anrechnen lassen?
Für bestimmte Fächer ist dies mit entsprechendem Antrag und nach Aufnahme des Studiums an der Popakademie möglich. Für Fächer, die sehr spezifisch auf die Musikbranche ausgerichtet sind, können Prüfungsleistungen nicht angerechnet werden. Für allgemeine Grundlagenfächer ist eine Anerkennung grundsätzlich möglich.
In welchen Berufsfeldern kann ich mit einem Musikbusiness-Abschluss arbeiten?
Je nach den Ausbildungs­schwerpunkten Künstlerentwicklung, Marketing- und Vertriebsmanagement, Business Management, Digital Innovation Management oder Community Management handelt es sich bei den zukünftigen Arbeitgebern um Labels, Verlage, Management-, Booking- und Promotionagenturen, Digitale Dienstleister oder aber um Kommunen, z.B. als Rock- oder Popbeauftragte/-r, sowie um Unternehmen im Medien- und Eventbereich.
Muss ich für den B.A. Musikbusiness ein Instrument beherrschen?
Nein.
Gibt es einen Tag der offenen Tür?
Ja, dieser findet in der Regel im Februar statt. Das genaue Datum findet sich im Kalender.

Bewerbung

Wie kann ich mich bewerben?
Auf unserer Webseite gibt es den Zulassungsantrag als Download. Gegen einen mit 1,45 € frankierten DINA4 Rückumschlag verschicken wir die Unterlagen aber auch mit der Post. Außerdem können wir die Anträge als Datei-Anhang per E-Mail zusenden. Den Zulassungsantrag bitte vollständig ausfüllen und ALLE weiteren für die Bewerbung relevanten Unterlagen bis zum 30. April senden an:

Popakademie Baden-Württemberg
Bewerbung Musikbusiness
Hafenstraße 33
68159 Mannheim

Anmerkung: Wir bitten darum, bei der Einreichung der Unterlagen auf aufwändige Gestaltungen zu verzichten z.B. keine Bewerbung in Form einer Vinyl o.ä., nicht jedes Blatt in eine Extra-Schutzfolie. So sehr wir Kreativität schätzen, so schwierig ist es für unsere Verwaltung Unterlagen, die vom Standardformat abweichen, für die Auswahljury aufzubereiten. Letztlich können diese schönen Ideen leider nicht für die Vorauswahl berücksichtigt werden.
Gibt es eine Altersbeschränkung?
Nein.
Brauche ich unbedingt Abitur?
Für Musikbusiness ist die allgemeine oder fachgebundene Hochschulreife, die Fachhochschulreife oder eine entsprechende berufliche Qualifikation mit Eignungsprüfung (Merkblatt zum Studieren ohne Abitur) Zulassungsvoraussetzung. Weitere Informationen hierzu erteilt der Studiengangsmanager Prof. Dr. Alexander Endreß.
Habe ich auch Chancen, wenn ich eben erst mein Abitur gemacht habe?
Zu den Zulassungsvoraussetzungen für den Studiengang Musikbusiness B.A. gehören praktische Erfahrungen, wozu auch ehrenamtliche Tätigkeiten, Jobs und/oder Praktika gerechnet werden können. Daher ist es auch für Abiturienten und Abiturientinnen möglich, diese Voraussetzungen zu erfüllen. Anstelle eines Zeugnisses kann bei ehrenamtlichen Tätigkeiten auch ein selbstverfasster Projektbericht mit entsprechenden Belegen beigelegt werden.
Was muss ich an Praxiserfahrung mitbringen?
Praktische Erfahrung in der Organisation oder Administration in der Musikbranche ist zum Bewerbungszeitpunkt nachzuweisen. Hier gilt: Je näher am Kerngeschäft des Musikbusiness und je zeitlich umfangreicher die Praxiserfahrung ist, desto besser sind die Chancen aufgenommen zu werden. Neben Berufserfahrung können aber auch Nebenjobs, Praktika oder ehrenamtliche Tätigkeiten, z.B. das Management der eigenen Band, besonderes Engagement in der Musik AG etc., angerechnet werden. Wenn man einen Ausbildungsabschluss im kaufmännischen oder im Medienbereich hat oder ein Vordiplom in einem wirtschafts-, geistes- oder sozialwissenschaftlichen Studiengang ist auch weniger Praxiserfahrung in der Musikbranche ausreichend.
Was mache ich, wenn ich mein Abschlusszeugnis noch nicht habe?
Anstelle des Abschlusszeugnisses bitte die letzten beiden Halbjahreszeugnisse den Unterlagen beilegen. Das Abschlusszeugnis kann dann zur Aufnahmeprüfung bzw. zum Studienbeginn nachgereicht werden.
Wie viele Bewerbungen gab es letztes Jahr?
Für den Studiengang Musikbusiness gab es in den letzten Jahren ca. 100 - 120 Bewerbungen.

Bewerber/-innen aus dem Ausland

Kann ich mich als Ausländer/-in auch bewerben?
Selbstverständlich! Das (ausländische) Abschlusszeugnis muss dafür anerkannt worden sein. Falls der Abschluss nicht an einer deutschsprachigen Schule gemacht wurde, muss ein Nachweis über ausreichende Deutschkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Für geflüchtete Studieninteressierte finden sich weiterführende Informationen auf der Webseite des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst.
Wo lasse ich mein ausländisches Abschlusszeugnis anerkennen?
Zuständig für die Anerkennung von Bildungsnachweisen ist die Staatliche Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Stuttgart. Hier geht's zum Antrag für die Zeugnisanerkennung für ausländische Bewerberinnen und Bewerber.

Kontakt
Hr. Rummel
Studiensekretariat der Akademie der Bildenden Künste
Am Weißenhof 1
70191 Stuttgart
Tel.: +49 711 28440106

Für deutsche Staatsangehörige mit ausländischem Bildungsnachweis ist das Regierungspräsidium in Stuttgart zuständig.

Kontakt
Regierungspräsidium Stuttgart
Abt. 7 Schule und Bildung
Anerkennungsstelle
Postfach 103642
70031 Stuttgart
Tel.: +49 711 90440700
Welche Nachweise benötige ich für meine Deutschkenntnisse?
Deutschkenntnisse sind Voraussetzung für ein Studium an der Popakademie.
Folgende Nachweise werden für ausreichende Deutschkenntnisse anerkannt: DSH-Prüfung an einer deutschen Hochschule, Feststellungsprüfung beim Studienkolleg, Deutsches Sprachdiplom Stufe II, Kleines oder Großes Sprachdiplom des Goethe-Instituts, Zentrale Oberstufenprüfung des Goethe-Instituts.

Aufnahmeprüfung

Wann sind die Aufnahmeprüfungen?
Der Termin für die Aufnahmeprüfung für den Studiengang Musikbusiness wird unter Facts bekannt gegeben.
Wie kann ich mir die Aufnahmeprüfung vorstellen?
Die Prüfung besteht aus einer schriftlichen Arbeit mit Fragen aus dem Bereich Musikbusiness, z.B. in Form einer Postkorbübung, und aus einem Einzelgespräch. In der Prüfung wird kein betriebswirtschaftliches Fachwissen abgefragt. Die praxisorientierten Aufgaben können mit betriebswirtschaftlichem Grundwissen, Managementfähigkeiten und Organisationsgeschick sowie vorhandenem Interesse am Geschehen in der Musikbranche gelöst werden.
Wie oft kann ich an der Aufnahmeprüfung teilnehmen?
Man kann zweimal an der Aufnahmeprüfung teilnehmen.
Werden alle Bewerber/-innen zur Aufnahmeprüfung eingeladen?
Zur Aufnahmeprüfung können nur diejenigen Bewerber/-innen eingeladen werden, die die Vorauswahl bestanden haben. In dieser Vorauswahl werden die Studienvoraussetzungen anhand der eingereichten Unterlagen überprüft.

Studieren an der Popakademie

Wie hoch ist der Studierendenwerksbeitrag?
Der Studierendenwerksbeitrag beläuft sich derzeit auf 80,90€ pro Semester.
Können Studierende der Popakademie BAföG beantragen?
Ja, das Studium an der Popakademie berechtigt zur Förderung durch BAföG.
Gibt es ein Semesterticket?
Die Popakademie ist Mitglied des Studierendenwerks Mannheim. Die Studierenden der Popakademie bezahlen einen Studierendenwerksbeitrag und sind dadurch berechtigt, das verbilligte VRN-Semesterticket zu erwerben.
Gibt es an der Popakademie ein Studierendenwohnheim?
Die Popakademie hat kein eigenes Studierendenwohnheim. Da sie aber Mitglied des Studierendenwerks Mannheim ist, können die Studierenden die Wohnraumvermittlung des Studierendenwerks in Anspruch nehmen. Eines der größten Studierendenwohnheime befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nähe der Popakademie.
Kann ich als Gast an einer Vorlesung teilnehmen?
Das ist leider nicht möglich. Im Rahmen des Infotags, der meistens im Februar stattfindet, finden aber Schnuppervorlesungen statt, die einen guten Eindruck über den Vorlesungsbetrieb vermitteln.